Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Helicoil removal tool

Hello everyone,

I'm trying to get hold of a 5/16" helical removal tool, or anything that would work? The nearest available ones are M8 ones from China. I would be very grateful of any help!

Many thanks

Kyle
    "The harder the conflict, the more glorious the Triumph" - Thomas Paine

From China !!!!.

Comment

If nothing else shows up, I won't have much of a choice at this rate. Either that or have the heads off (again this month!) to fix my shoddy helicoiling. I'd rather not!

Comment

I have one of these

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Faithfull...sAAOSwvktagxuF

I managed to get a broken insert out years ago. Sharp tap to slightly push corners of scraper into steel of insert then whilst pushing down unscrew. If you are lucky and luck does come into removing helicoils it unscrews.
        When i was an apprentice more than 50 yrs ago I had a job to helicoil about 50 small holes in a large casting. it had had probably 15 hours of machining done already and yes I broken an insert. Foreman used the triangular scraper trick but only after telling me the cost of the casting would come out of my wages if it didn't work!

- Alan

Comment

Hi Kyle

I bought these ones on eBay

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/V-Coil-In...em1a83e6987e:g:zt0AAOxyJ59RGf0Z

They work, however the tool metal is soft, so depending how many you need to remove, you may wish (like me) to buy two as they get damaged quickly and won’t work.

I also had to get jewellers files to file little notches for the tool to grab. Don’t file too far into the insert or it becomes a nightmare to get them out.

Hope this helps!

Jeff
          Last edited by JeffW; 22nd May 2020, 07:52.

Comment

I have fulled a fews helicals out just with a pair of slim nose plairs. you need to use a thin screwdriver to lift the end out a bit and then use plairs to tug out, comes out as if you pulled a spring to much.

Comment