Something for the painters out there

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Something for the painters out there

I'm currently prepping the Stag for paint and have used some polyester primer/filler for the first time and thought I would share my experience so far.

I have never used it before but people rave about it so thought I would try this time (This is my 4th full paint job) up until now I have done multiple-multiple coats of hi-build 2k.

I'm using "Evercoat Featherfill G2" which is a little thinner than the Slicksand product and can be sprayed with a 1.8-2.2 nozzle (as I had a 2.0 and slicksand needs a bigger nozzle) It went on fine but the key is to filter the stuff BEFORE you mix in the hardener as its pretty time sensitive. I cannot stress this enough, I forgot this for the first test spray and it spat out lots of gobs, no matter how much you mix it has some chunks in it so definitely filter it..

It went on pretty good, I upped the pressure a little, I normally use 25psi at the gun but upped it almost 30. You can only leave the stuff in the gun for 30 mins, so between coats I was running a little thinners through the gun to keep it clear but failed to clean the air ports and some buildup there caused me to struggle a bit towards the end... lesson learned.

Coverage was just under Gallon for 2 coats of the whole exterior of the Stag, so I am planning on using 2 gallons/4 coats., Hopefully there will be enough spare to hit any problem areas with more if needed